Image

New Colette pattern: Lily!

10 Apr

In previous rounds of pattern testing, Sarai has asked testers to spread the word on their blogs, and I’ve never had a blog to help spread the word until now! Today was the launch of the spring/summer line at Colette Patterns, and I had the pleasure of testing the sundresses, Lily and Hazel.

Today I’ll share my test version of Lily, which is the princess-seamed dress with the flap-detail that wants to turn any figure into an hourglass. After all, as I believe I have mentioned, mine is a straight-up block, the rectangle on the Vogue envelope, [and granted, in the testing run the goal is making sure all the moving parts work the way they should and notches line up for your ease of use later and all that good stuff, not craft a perfectly-fitted dress for my later use, but fitting issues aside…] and I think you can see that the dress is trying its very darnedest to show my shape off to its best advantage!

I used a crazy soft cotton ikat, which may just be my favorite fabric ever. The periwinkle was a very very last-minute addition, literally after all the blue was cut I changed my mind and went with this peri fuji silk as contrast. Depending on my mood I wish it were navy or ivory or red or mustard or flaming chartreuse, so really, periwinkle is probably as good as any! I absolutely dote on the solid-color apricot in the samples they posted today, though, scrumptious!

Here is the back with tiny little kick pleat!

I would love to say I'm woman enough not to be off-put by my winter-white skin...

And, being me, with my lack-of-waist sensitivity (why did the white squares have to come together at the waist anyway?), I tried it with some belts. I think it would look great with a really narrow, solid navy belt, which I don’t have. But I found what I kind of like it with this big olive sateen cummerbund belt I made with the Peony pattern (cute covered button in back on that one); it’s in keeping with my whole more-is-more aesthetic, you know:

Final thoughts on Miss Lily. This dress is quite simple to make being mostly straightish lines except the main bust seams; it is only a little time-consuming in that there are a lot of pieces to cut and work with. However, because it is princess-seamed, it is easier both to fit initially, and for my purposes now, to go back and alter later! But the flaps on bodice and pockets go in super easily, nothing tricky or weird; simpler I think than the Rooibos pockets actually although similar concept.

Oh, and in case you haven’t noticed, Regular-Bra Friendly! 😀 Forgot to go strapless for the photos, but you really can’t even tell. (Granted at my proportion the apparatus isn’t as architectural as at the more generous sizes, so that may not go for everyone, I just realized.)

Also, the first Colette sundresses to have back zips, if that makes a difference to anybody- both Lily and Hazel have them (invisible).

I’ll return with Hazel next!

25 Responses to “New Colette pattern: Lily!”

  1. Molly April 10, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    Looks great and definitely defines your curves! I was surprised at how similar the lily and hazel patterns are though.

    • atelierfargo April 10, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      Thanks, Molly! I think they look that way from a distance because the straps are exactly the same shape and the waist hits at the same point, but all the other parts are constructed and shaped really, really differently! The Hazel bodice is like nothing I’ve worked with before; in fact I really wasn’t even sure how to fit it, and so didn’t get quite as much of an SBA as I should have. It’s a big triangle, superimposed on these bias-cut trapezoids. Which are weird for grading up or down too, since I do a big grade between bust and waist. So it’s a trip, the Hazel, but SO cute with the stripes going in all directions, I’m a huge fan of that pattern!!

  2. scruffy badger April 11, 2012 at 1:05 am #

    Hillary it looks fabulous. I think it is a very stylish sun dress, and like bra friendliness! Beautiful fabric choices too…

  3. Magpie Mimi April 11, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    I really like this dress on you!

    I had the same concerns as Molly about the two dresses, but now that you’ve pointed that out about the stripes and bodice shape I can see where the differences are.

    Thanks for a lovely pattern review!

    • atelierfargo April 11, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      Thanks, Mimi! Oh, I’m so glad I could clarify!! There’s the difference of the dirndl skirt too, I maybe should have mentioned, versus the pencil skirt! The dirndl is fairly slim, but definitely fuller than the Lily.

  4. Sølvi April 11, 2012 at 3:25 am #

    Love the shape and design, it´s very flattering on you! And I love your color/pattern combo. Nicely done! Can´t wait to see the Hazel as well! 🙂

  5. Lavender April 11, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    This is so cute! I’d love to see it with a skinny mustard or red belt!

    • atelierfargo April 11, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      Thank you! Yes, I think my mustard belt was too wide and that was why it didn’t look right. I had a brain wave last night- piping in the peri fuji silk at the waistline! That will give me the definition I want without the need for something extra! As long as I can bring myself to cut a big bias chunk out of the rest of my slik! 🙂

  6. gingermakes April 11, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    This is gorgeous! You look lovely!

  7. aviewintomyworld April 11, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    the angled pockets do give a curvier look… nice idea in your comment about piping too! looking forward to seeing the other one

    • atelierfargo April 11, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

      Thanks, Louise- yeah I think it will make all the difference!

  8. Cecili April 11, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    I love your fabric choices, your dress is fabulous! The accessoring -belt and earrings- is super gorgeous too 🙂

  9. Jo April 11, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    So pretty! Who doesn’t love Colette patterns? 🙂

  10. LizJane April 11, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Hi,
    I’m impressed I saw the new patterns and thought they were not ‘for me’. I’m slight (OK skinny) and thought they would make me look shapeless as many of the Colette patterns seem best of full figured girls. But you have changed my mind! I think I ‘must’ have Lily and Hazel after all…

    • atelierfargo April 11, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

      Ha! I’m glad to have converted you! Yes I know what you mean, but when I got started sewing a lot of Colette I wasn’t seeing a lot around that was nearly as cute or interesting to sew, so I have been learning the ins and outs of SBAs and just giving the styles a try! Some have worked better than others, but I often think of it as “will this be cuter than xyz Big 3 pattern co on *me*?” instead of “will this Colette pattern be cuter on a curvier girl than it would be on me?” And I usually land in favor of making the Colette instead of the other pattern. Now, granted there are a lot more indie pattern companies than there were just a few years ago, and lots of interesting things going on in the industry generally, but I have really been so pleased with so many garments, wardrobe staples of mine, made from Colette Patterns, even though I am pretty much opposite in all respects from the pattern block that they use! Good luck on your projects!!

      • LizJane April 22, 2012 at 12:46 am #

        Excellent advice! I’ve started sewing after a long long break. It’s wonderful to be back at the machine and I think the difference is this time I have years of experience of what suits me and what doesn’t. Once I master fitting I will be set!
        I’ve ordered Hazel and have a v.cute soft aqua stripe waiting to make a muslin from… I might have also ordered Ginger and Chantilly while I was at it!

  11. Amy April 13, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    I love the ikat fabric, and the contrasting blue is such a pretty color. I could see this with an orange belt!

    • atelierfargo April 19, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

      Thanks, Amy! Ooo, yes, orange would be a great contrast!

  12. Marysol April 19, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    Hello ,
    I was wondering if you offer any sewing classes?
    -Marysol

    • atelierfargo April 19, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

      Hi Marysol, I’d be happy to if there were interest. Are you local in the F-M area? If so you can email me to talk more about it at atelierfargo (at) gmail. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

