Image

Of course I’ll be MMMing; you?

7 Apr

At last post, I was poised in the middle of exciting mystery winter project…… And here we are in Spring, Me-Made-May almost upon us, and I haven’t posted since January! Updates are in order!

The week of last post everything changed pretty quickly. I have already overshared here about my surgery and I don’t want to get too much into this, but a dear friend of mine died suddenly, and, well, everything changed. As for the big mystery project, I completely lost the “ganas” to finish it in the prevailing mood, so will return to it next fall (believe me, you’ll see me swanning around town in that baby yet), but just for the record, it is one of these:

Evadress C20-6611 Fur Trimmed Coat, circa 1929

Swoon, right?

Even though I got back into sewing in a time of grief a few years ago, this time I just haven’t been able to sew a stitch in months. Sewing paralysis, (Well, except for testing the new Colette patterns, but that’s different! Yep, that’s called foreshadowing!) although to be fair it’s really been a shift in perspectives and focus too. But this coat, it’s my pet project, I want it to be joyful, so I packed it up and will wait until I can finish it joyfully and devotedly. So that is that.

On to new business.

Me-Made-May, of course I’ll be there! I hope to see you all!

And the other, you don’t get to see those til next week! πŸ™‚

Til then may the thread tension be everrr in your favor! xo

9 Responses to “Of course I’ll be MMMing; you?”

  1. aviewintomyworld April 7, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    so sorry to hear of your loss Hilary, I hope you can find yourself a perspective that works for you in your altered world…

    re your coat, swoon is an understatement and totally understandable to set it aside until you can enjoy the process and the results too.

    as for mmm-ing, unfortunately this time around i’m sitting it out on the benches. I’ve got finals of the professional exams I’m doing for the day job in May and I need to know that I gave the studying my all so I’ve no what ifs in the event of the results not being up to scratch!

    • atelierfargo April 10, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      Thank you Louise! I am well on my way, it’s been impetus to change things that needed changing, so good in that way, good can come from bad.

      I’ll miss you at MMM and I know that goes for a LOT of us, but definitely you made the right choice, and I wish you the best of luck on your exams!!

  2. Magpie Mimi April 8, 2012 at 3:24 am #

    I’m sorry for your loss. I hope you get some joy back into your life soon.

    That coat will be amazing! I hope you have a cloche hat to wear with it!

    I shall be MMMing I just keep forgetting to post about it! See you there!

    • atelierfargo April 10, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

      Thanks Mimi! And yes, I bought a cloche pattern from VPLL because I have a funny-shaped head! πŸ™‚

      I look forward to seeing you at MMM!!!

  3. PendleStitches April 8, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    Sending you best wishes at this very sad time.

    The coat will be stunning.

  4. Cecili April 9, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    I’m so sorry for this sad loss, I hope you’ll get better even if it will probably take a lot of time 😦 Sewing wise that coat is going to be SUBLIME once you decide to finish it, it will be so worth the wait! And I can’t wait to see your outfits for MMM2012!
    Cecili xoxo

    • atelierfargo April 10, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

      Thanks Cecili, I didn’t mean to post such a downer, I just felt like I should explain what happened, but now I brought everyone down too 😦 Sorry… Well, I posted a cheerful dress today, and can’t wait to see you at MMM!!

  5. Lavender April 11, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    Lots of hugs and warm thoughts your way. I was worried about you, and will keep you and yours in mind.

Leave a Reply

