Image

Self-drafted tie-neck blouse: second draft

11 Dec

Check out this gorgeous de Lempicka!  If this doesn’t put you in the mood for a boisterous ochrey scarf-neck blouse I don’t know what will.

I actually came across it while trying to find a picture of the right “30s hair” to take to the hairdresser, LOL.   I in my dinosaur ways was looking in actual books, but I discovered in looking for credits that there is a really lush and wonderful official website www.delempicka.org that has full catalog of sketches and paintings organized by years: really fantastic!  I did Art History as an undergraduate when there weren’t these things.  It’s kind of dizzying, exhilarating to see.  I suddenly feel like I went to college in 70s, or maybe 1870s; it was really so much closer to that than today.

Anywho, here finally is the ochre wool jersey version of the self-drafted scarf-style tie-neck top I originally posted about ages ago!   I went a different direction on the tie!

Self-Drafted Ochre Jersey Top

The neck ties are cut extra long, so actually wound around the neck twice in the above picture to give extra depth at the neck.

Double Loop Ties

Possibly under the influence of the above floaty pumpkin chiffon artwork, I thought it would be extra fun to cut the ties superlong.  The wool jersey is so fine as to be actually translucent, so not especially heavy.  And it is fun: I can make exhuberantly wrapped cowls, and tied up peplumy goddess wraps and whatnot, and in the end someday I can go in and clip it down to a straightforward tie-neck length so when I do want to just wear the regular tie it doesn’t look so theme-park costumey (ie the word I’m dancing around here you know is “clowny”).

Clowny or no, it really is actual clothing-derived fun wearing it with all that bow hanging out the front of a sedate herringbone suit jacket though, especially in that color.  Great cascade of woolly color.

I love it dressed down too.  On the right it’s layered with the ubiquitous Burda one-piece kimono T in the same fabric.  Worn this way it doesn’t look anything like the blouse I was originally going for but I really love how it came out.

The tie ends are noteworthy, BTW.  One of the Vogue Couturier patterns I studied in my “research” (come on, I read patterns for fun and relaxation, don’t you?) taught me to close the ends of the scarf at the end, after sewing and turning the long sides of the ties, then you fold in the very ends and blind hem.  It gives you an opportunity for a much crisper corner (at least with a fabric that holds its press better than jersey with lycra), and in this particular case, it gives you the freedom to change your mind on length, because you can always cut them off and rehem them!  Pretty cool!

Rewrappable means bonus peplum top!

That is probably all there is to say.  I did do a facing on the neckline to support all that scarf, jersey or no jersey; I assume that’s a no-brainer even for those of you more proficient in the knits than I.

So all that’s left is another photo of me cavorting in the ochre jersey until I can get around to posting all I’ve been meaning to!  Still to come: What I Wore this Weekend, Belated Wrap up of items from the Fall Palette Challenge @Coletterie, Introduction to my Colette Taffys, and Weren’t there supposed to be some Suits in there Somewhere?

Yet another item from my Colette Fall Palette Challenge!

16 Responses to “Self-drafted tie-neck blouse: second draft”

  1. molly December 11, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    I like how long the ties are, not clowny at all, because you can do so many things with them!

  2. gingermakes December 11, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    Ooh, I like this! Really cute!

  3. Andrea December 12, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    I just discovered your blog via your mention on the Collette blog – I’m so glad you’re blogging! I’ve been seeing your awesome creations on flickr and the me-made challenges and was sad to know you did not have a blog. But now you do! It’s going to be great to be able to follow your makes on this space.

    • atelierfargo December 12, 2011 at 8:24 am #

      Thank you so much, that makes my whole day!

  4. Sølvi December 12, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Gorgeous! That extra looong tie is genius! So many options! And such a great color! I love it. 🙂

  5. aviewintomyworld December 12, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    amazing picture!
    know what you mean about how different it was to go to college before the internet really took hold – i remember getting someone to show me how to use “the internet” and “searching”, i knew how to use a library!!!
    ties don’t look clowny at all, love that colour 🙂

    • atelierfargo January 12, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

      LOL, yeah I know what you mean, the hushed labs where someone who was fully initiated would walk us through the mysteries of “telnet” and such, strange new worlds! Nobody has a proper card catalog anymore- for obvious reasons, but when all the computers are crashed it’s hard not to be wistful!

      Oh and thank you very much too 🙂

  6. Lavender December 13, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Not clowny at all! I love the versatility & the super-wraparound -peplum-ability! And yup, I too hit the stacks when in search of anything. I worked at the library, and would drool over artist’s books any chance I got, occasionally hitting up the archives to handle the real deal. White-gloved, of course.

    • atelierfargo January 12, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

      Ah me too!! Wasn’t it the best?! When I was in college, I thought I had the absolute best of all worlds, I worked in academic library in the day and nightclub at night: all the books and all the music. Part of the time I worked for a document retrieval service on campus and my beat was the special collections within the main liberal arts library, including the so-called Annex with the restricted-access goods, like the more razor-risk art books, and historical collections. So hard to stay on task when you’re tasked with rounding up just this one particular item when you are literally kid-in-candy-store all day!

  7. Magpie Mimi December 13, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Hello! So glad I found you through the Colette blog as didn’t realise you had a blog now! I really love this top, the colour, the drape of the very pretty bow and it’s versatility, perfect! Well done on a fabulous top!

    • atelierfargo January 12, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

      Mimi!!!!!! Hi!!!! I’m so glad you found me too and that as a consequence I’ve found you! 🙂 Thank you so much, I really appreciate your kind words, and I look forward to following your blog now that we’ve connected again!

  8. Carolyn December 23, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Hey Hillary! (from a fellow self-stitched september-er) Louise mentioned you had a blog now, congratulations!

    • atelierfargo January 12, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

      Hi Carolyn, Thank you, and I am honored by your visit! 🙂 Your blog is the gold standard!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Me-Made-May-12: the story so far « Atelier Fargo - May 11, 2012

    […] is ’30s Butterick 5195, self-drafted tie-neck top in ochre wool jersey, layered on Burda one-piece T in same fabric, McCalls M6173 […]

Leave a Reply

