Image

Self-drafted Tie-Neck Blouse: First Draft

13 Nov

1st draft: wearable!

I’ve never really been very comfortable drafting projects for myself but when I came across this Lanvin blouse when collecting some inspiration ideas and pictures for my Colette Fall Palette Challenge board, it stuck in my head as a really perfect example of its type as far as my tastes are concerned, and one I wanted to try to emulate in the ochre wool jersey I’m currently so in love with (see the one-piece Burdastyle T made from same, below).

I’m not really experienced enough either with bias silk satin (or with lycra-containing jersey for that matter) to really know how the one translates to the other but I am a bit of an expert on construction techniques of tie-neck garments, having studied more than my fair share of such patterns. I also did kind of a shooting gallery on Pinterest of tie-neck blouses, to compare and hone in on what I liked or didn’t like about this versus others.

In the end obviously I overshot the ease particularly in the cap sleeves, which obviously will be coming out of the ochre one. (and, I do see will have to come out of this one; picture really is worth about a thousand mirrors isn’t it?) The truth is, the raspberry cotton jersey here was really just supposed to be a straight-up muslin to make sure things went together right- but I got a little excited and carried away and finished it before realizing how much it would stretch out upon wearing.

It’s the absolute magic of a tie-neck blouse to me, that fabric whose color previously turned me off suddenly seems delicious to me and wait, isn’t that a rosey mauve in the far right second tier of my palette stack? Yep I think so.

Can’t wait to do the ochre one now that I know what I need to do!

2 Responses to “Self-drafted Tie-Neck Blouse: First Draft”

  1. aviewintomyworld December 3, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    isn’t drafting fun? you get to try to translate exactly whats in your head, i love it! and i must say your first draft is far more wearable than my curtain lining specimens 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Self-drafted tie-neck blouse first draft redux « Atelier Fargo - December 11, 2011

    […] here finally is the ochre wool jersey version of the self-drafted scarf-style tie-neck top I originally posted about ages ago!   I went a different direction on the tie! Self-Drafted Ochre […]

Leave a Reply

