Hello and welcome to my sewing blog!

28 Oct

Vogue 5456 ca. 1940s

Hi I’m Hillary and I love to sew, especially from vintage patterns, although I have a particular affection for Colette Patterns too. Previously most of my sewing has been posted to my Flickr page. Sewing is by far my favorite hobby, and there never seems enough time to do it in, which is why I have been so blog-resistant for so long. However, I have learned through wonderful Zoe’s Me-Made and Self-Stitched events how inspiring and rewarding it is to be more active and engaged with the extremely talented online sewing community, so I’m finally taking the plunge.

As I’m sure you’ll agree if you’re reading this, stitching is tops! A friend of mine calls it my sewing meditation because of its unique and profound de-stressing properties for me. Sewing just has so many more different facets for me than other pursuits- relaxation/antianxiety, intellectual/historical/continuing ed, creative/artistic and artisenal/crafting, and the sheer enjoyment of beautiful color and texture.

I plan to use the blog to document my sewing progress, but also to gush about my current pattern crushes, and muse about project challenges. In short, standard-issue sewing blog! Only sub-set really is my patterns overall tend to skew earlier in the 20th century.

My neighborhood, Fargo, 1912

Also, since I just moved to this oddball place last year, which is an interesting mix of intrigue, amusement, affection, and exasperation for me, I do find myself wanting to make Fargo a definite star of the blog. If I find I do in fact have readers and they actually turn out to be turned off by that aspect, I can of course tone down the Farblogsky. But Fargo is a major character in my life right now. Although I spent my whole adult life up til now in Minneapolis, I did grow up in Bismarck, way in the center of North Dakota where it starts to feel like “The West”, and thought I had a pretty good handle on what “North Dakota-ness” was to me, but this place is surprising in how completely different it is from my expectations.

Format around here is on the drawing board; I’ll be interested to hear what anyone thinks about the current theme/color scheme however (“Vertigo”). Since I work mostly in pretty saturated colors, I’m quite liking the black background and angley little grey frames quite a lot so far.

2 Responses to “Hello and welcome to my sewing blog!”

  1. Lavender December 6, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    I am so lame! I just now realized who you are… the SSS ’11 crush, whose style I could not get enough of. Welcome to blogging, Hillary!!! And hells yeah, show us a bit of Fargo.

    • atelierfargo December 6, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

      Thank you very much- and that was me with your style @SSS!

Leave a Reply

